About Head and Neck Cancer

Head and Neck Cancer is a generic term used to covers a range of malignant tumours that can develop in or around the throat, larynx, nose, sinuses and mouth.

There are five primary types of head and neck cancer:

Laryngeal and Hypopharyngeal Cancer
Laryngeal cancer affects the larynx or voice box – an organ at the top of the windpipe that is important for breathing, talking and swallowing. Hypopharynx cancer affects the gullet – the lower part of the throat that surrounds the larynx.

Nasal Cavity and Paranasal Sinus Cancer
This cancer affects the nasal cavity – the space behind the nose where air passes on its way to the throat. The paranasal sinuses are the air-filled areas that surround the nasal cavity.

Nasopharyngeal Cancer
This affects the nasopharynx – the airway at the upper part of the throat behind the nose.

Oral and Oropharyngeal Cancer
Oral cancers affect the mouth and tongue. Cancer of the oropharynx affects the area of the throat area between the tonsils and the larynx.

Salivary Gland Cancer
The salivary gland is tissue that releases fluid into the mouth to keep it moist and that contains enzymes that begin breaking down food.
There are several other areas in the head and neck that can be affected by cancer such as the brain and eyes but as these cancers are treated differently to those above they do not come under the classification of Head and Neck cancer.

Head and Neck Cancer Surgery
Head and neck surgery is ablative and reconstructive surgery for tumours and cancer of the mouth, throat, face and neck and salivary gland. It also covers surgery for other tumours of the head and neck region.

Jarrod Homer is vastly experienced in all aspects of Ear, Nose and Throat surgery but has a particular interest in craniofacial surgery for cancers of the anterior and lateral skull base. He is nationally recognised as an innovator in the field of ENT surgery and was one the first UK surgeons to regularly perform ultrasound scanning for patients with neck and thyroid lumps.